2008 Asia-Pacific Symposium on Electromagnetic Compatibility
in conjunction with the
19th International Zurich Symposium on Electromagnetic Compatibility

Report on APEMC 2008, IEEE EMC Society Newsletter, Issue 218, Summer 2008  

Download this report

Download Technical Program

The 2008 Asia-Pacific EMC Symposium (APEMC) was held in conjunction with the 19th International Zurich Symposium and Technical Exhibition on Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC-in-Singapore 2008), under the theme “The Gateway to Emerging Technology,” from May 19 to 22, 2008 at the Singapore SUNTEC International Convention and Exhibition Center. This event addressed the needs of a rapidly rising EMC community in the region while promoting excellence and warm relationship amongst the EMC community and members. The conference chair was Dr. Er-Ping Li from the Singapore National Research Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC). Dr. Li recently was awarded IEEE Fellow. With the Singapore fabulous organizing team, the conference was a resounding success, the same as an identical conference in 2006 hosted at the same venue in conjunction with EMC Zurich. The 2008 APEMC laid down the Asia-Pacific EMC foundation and identity, and it will continue from this point onwards.

The Symposium attendance was over 370 delegates from 31 countries making this a truly global conference, with an increase in the number of delegates from the Asia-Pacific region as compared to EMC-in-Singapore 2006. A technical exhibition was held concurrently with the Symposium, with 34 exhibitors within 1000 square meters of floor space.

The opening ceremony took place in the morning of May 20, attended by over 400 delegates and invited guests. In his opening speech, the President of the Symposium, Dr. Li Erping welcomed all delegates and expressed his appreciation to the organising committee, technical committee, paper authors, and sponsors for their great effort and contribution in making the Symposium a success. The General Co-Chair, Professor Ruediger Vahldieck took the stage next, giving his opening address for the Symposium, complimenting the organising committee for a job well done and announcing the 20th International EMC Zurich Symposium January 12–16, 2009 at ETH Zurich, Switzerland. Following Professor Vahldieck’s was an address by Elya Joffe, President of IEEE EMC Society.

The Symposium was officially declared open by the Guest-of-Honor, Professor Tan Chorn Chuan, Senior Deputy President of National University of Singapore and the Deputy Chairman of A-STAR. Two keynote speeches were then presented, first by Dr. Raj Thampuran, Director of A-STAR on the topic of “R&D Holds the Key for Singapore’s 21st Century Economic Development,” followed by Dr. Albert Ruehli of IBM T. J. Waston Research Centre, USA, on “Electromagnetic EMC Modelling Techniques: Past, Present and Future.”   

The general organization of the Symposium had a focus on high quality technical papers by speakers from all over the world. A total of 320 papers were received and 194 papers were selected for oral presentations. Spanning over three days (May 20-22), the Symposium offered a total of 39 well attended oral technical sessions (inclusive three Topical Meetings on Integrated Circuit EMC), using four parallel tracks and three Open Forum poster sessions. On top of these high quality technical sessions, there were two plenary talks by renowned experts in the morning of May 21. The first by Professor Dr.-Ing Thomas Weiland of Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany who spoke on “EMC Simulations in Time and Frequency Domain,” followed by Professor Raj. Mittra from Penn State University, USA, on “Challenges in Real-World EMI/EMC Problems and Some Novel Techniques.”

In the evening following the first technical session on May 20, the Symposium held its welcome reception is the exhibition area. The Symposium banquet took place on May 21 at Rasa Sentosa Resort on the island of Sentosa. On the beach under the rustling palm trees, the delegates enjoyed the view of a sandy white beach and listened to the waves, while a great selection of Asian-based meats and fresh seafood dishes and exotic desserts, specially selected for the international guests. During the banquet, awards were presented for Best Symposium and Best Student Paper, while Plaques of Appreciation were received by the three primary sponsors, TESEQ, EM TEST and CST. The organizing committee received Certificates of Appreciation from the General Co-Chair, Professor Vahldieck.

The Best Symposium Paper Award was given to Jian Wang, Qifeng Liu, Wen-Yan Yin, and Junfa Mao from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China for their paper entitled “A New Conformal Technique for FDTD (2,4) Scheme for Modeling Perfectly Conducting Composites.”

Three Best Student Papers were selected from the 59 student papers submitted. Besides their oral presentations, the students were required to present their papers in the poster session. The first prize was a difficult choice for the judges and in the end, they decided to award two First prizes to Nico Godel  from Helmut-Schmidt-University, Germany, for his paper “Time Domain Discontinuous Galerkin Method with Efficient Modelling of Boundary Conditions for Simulations of Electromagnetic Wave Propagation” and to Anne Roc’h from the University of Twente, Netherlands for her paper “Performance Optimization Aspects of Common Mode Chokes.”  The third prize went to Zhangqing Yu  of Tsinghua University, China for his paper “Analysis on Switching Transient EMI in +/- 500kV HVDC Converter Stations.”

A total of 7 workshops and tutorials sessions were conducted one day prior to the Symposium.  These workshops and tutorials were hosted by 26 international specialists whom introduced participants to the latest developments in the fields of EMC and Signal Integrity, Circuit Board EMC Design, Reverberation Chambers, EMC and Modern Power Electronic Systems, RF Biological Effects, as well as System Level EMC Design and Control. These workshops and tutorials alone were well attended with 228 participants and provided some groundwork for the three days of regular EMC technical sessions that were to follow.

The IEEE EMC Society together with the other cooperating societies provided technical co-sponsorship. The Symposium also received sponsorship from TESEQ, EM TEST and Computer Simulation Technology (CST). The IEEE EMC Society had eight board members in attendance, Elya Joffe, Todd Hubing, John Norgard, Francesca Maradei, Kimball Williams, Takeo Yoshino, Don Heirman and Mark Montrose. The IEEE EMCS booth in the exhibit hall received 10 new members, all from Asia. As a result of the conference, we hope to create several new chapters in Asia.

The Symposium closed with an IEC ACEC EMC Workshop organized by the IEC Asia-Pacific Regional Centre (IEC-APRC) the evening of May 22, 2008.  Speakers include Dr. William Radasky, Donald Heirman, and Professor Michel Ianoz.

The next Asia-Pacific EMC Symposium will take place in 2010 in Beijing (www.apemc2010.org). On behalf of the organising committee, we invite everyone to attend.

For further information about the APEMC2008 Symposium, please contact the Symposium President, Dr. Li Erping at erpingli@ieee.org.

APEMC 2008: Proceedings | Supplement | Photo Gallery | Exhibition


Last update: 20th Feb 2014 by APEMC webmaster